The French-Russian (Network) University was established in accordance with the Protocol of 21 January 2016 by the XXI Session of the Franco-Russian Economic, Financial, Industrial and Trade Council (CEFIC). On the French side, the Protocol was signed by Emmanuel Macron, who was at that time the Minister for the Economy, Industry and Digital Affairs Emmanuel Macron. The Charter of the French-Russian University (FRU), founded by four Russian and four French universities, was signed on 4 April in the framework of the Russian-French Commission on Cooperation in the Field of Culture, Education and Youth Exchange.

To coordinate cooperation between Russian and French universities, a special body, "The Сenter of Russian-French Сooperation "Trianon dialogue» was set up under the auspices of the Russian Presidential Academy of National Economy and Public Administration, and with support from the Russian Ministry of Education and Science.

The FRU has been established as a Consortium consisting of the leading Russian and French universities interested in implementing and institutionalizing joint projects.

The founding members are as follows. On the Russian side: the Russian Presidential Academy of National Economy and Public Administration (RANEPA); the Russian Foreign Trade Academy under the Ministry of Economic Development of the Russian Federation (RFTA); National Nuclear Research University (MEPhI); RUDN University. On the French side: Université de Nice Sophia-Anitopils; EDHEC Business School; NEOMA Business School; SKEMA Business School.

The Consortium is expected to broaden its membership, first and foremost by involving more French universities, thus creating opportunities for prompt and efficient use of the advantages of each educational establishment on the basis of digital communications networks.

Governing Bodies
The supreme administrative body is the Council of Rectors, which meets at least once a year. The interim management is executed by the FRU Secretariat.
Since being established, the FRU already held five meetings of the Council of Rectors. At the last meeting the President of the University of Nice Sophia Antipolis Professor Emmanuel Tric was elected as a President of the FRU for a period of one year. 

The FRU's Goals 
The main goal is to ensure the development of human resources for the advancement of science and technology, and to boost national innovations and competitive potentials of both partner countries. This includes but is not limited to boosting the numbers of highly skilled staff for joint Franco-Russian ventures; expanding trade and economic ties; increasing and properly balancing academic mobility programs; and involving Russian and French businesses in education projects.

- to promote the academic mobility of students and facilitate collaborative scientific research;
- to develop joint digital education programs, including dual degrees at the Bachelor's, Master's and Doctoral levels, as well as continuing education programs;
- to implement various innovative programs aiming at improving the quality of higher education.
- digital education programs at the Bachelor's, Master's and Doctoral levels, including in multiple disciplines;
- foreign language programs, including Russian Language Offices in France;
- networking programs designed to involve the non-educational (e.g. corporate) sector (educational programs to suit the needs of specific sectors/industries);
- short-term education programs, including summer schools;
- professional/on-the-job training programs and practicum programs for students;
- joint scientific research projects, conferences and publications;
- translation and publication of scientific literature spanning a wide variety of disciplines.